The Canadian Institute of Forestry hosted a successful conference and annual general meeting in Ottawa from September 27-29. The conference had a great turnout with more than 180 delegates, including 48 students, visiting from all corners of North America and abroad.

The national executive for CIF was chosen during the annual meeting. Alex Drummond takes over as president. Colin Carroll is vice-president and Luc M. Rainville becomes second vice-president. Megan Smith remains on the executive as past president.

CIF also held its awards banquet during the conference. The CIF awards recognize outstanding and unique accomplishments in the forestry sector. Here are the 2016-2017 National Award recipients:

Canadian Forestry Achievement Award: Dr. Ronald D. Ayling of Almonte, ON

Canadian Forestry Scientific Achievement Award: Dr. Yousry A. El-Kassaby of Vancouver, BC

Canadian Forest Management Group Achievement Award: Forest Watershed Research Centre of the University of New Brunswick

International Forestry Achievement Award: Jorma Neuvonen of Vancouver, BC

James M. Kitz Award: Anthony Robinson of North Vancouver, BC

Presidential Award: John Pineau of Mattawa, ON

Prince of Wales Award for Sustainable Forestry: Dana Collins of Toronto, ON

Forest Capital of Canada Designation: The Petawawa Research Forest, Canadian Forest Service

Section of the Year Award: The Ottawa Valley Section

CIF-IFC Member Honour Award: Ken Armson

Prince of Wales Forest Leadership Awards: Theresa Reichlin, University of Toronto; Reginald Eddy, Fleming College; James Broom, University of Cumbria; Daniel Haslam, University of Cumbria

Tree of Life Awards: William J. Carroll of the Newfoundland and Labrador Section; Derek Morton Sidders of the Rocky Mountain Section; John Richard Spence of the Rocky Mountain Section

Golden Year Club: Andre Theriault of the Orleans Section; Brian Stocks of the Central Ontario Section; Frederick J. Hutcheson of the Southern Ontario Section; John D. Henson of the Algonquin Section; J. (Greg) M. Taylor of the Vancouver Island Section; L. Gary Kenwood of the Vancouver Section; Lorne F. Riley of the Ottawa Valley Section; Raymond Ranger of the Saskatchewan Section

Volunteer Awards: Stan Kavalinas of the Rocky Mountain Section; Mark Kube of the Rocky Mountain Section; Roxanne Comeau of the Ottawa Valley Section; George Bruemmer of the Ottawa Valley Section; Jim Farrell of the Ottawa Valley Section; Don Willis of the Algonquin Section