Ottawa, Ontario – The Forest Products Association of Canada honoured a series of national award winners for their extraordinary contribution to the forest sector during an industry trade luncheon attended by industry leaders, partners, and government representatives in Ottawa today.

The Canadian forest sector directly employs more than 230,000 people in over 600 communities, from remote villages to our largest cities – in all regions of the country

“As the voice of the Canadian forest products sector nationally and internationally, FPAC has developed our Awards of Excellence program to salute those who are making a difference and serve as an inspiration to all of us,” says CEO Derek Nighbor. “It’s important to recognize the men and women who are among our best and brightest, from those who have spent much of their lives contributing to the forest products sector to our younger rising stars. It is they who are the backbone of our industry.”

The 2018 Awards winners include:

FPAC Lifetime Achievement: (posthumously) Michael Jordan – Canfor Corporation

FPAC Outstanding member: Wendy Crosina – Weyerhaeuser Company Ltd.
Pascale Lagacé – Resolute Forest Products

FPAC Women in Forestry Award of Excellence: Tanya Wick – Tolko Industries Ltd.

FPAC Rising Star Award: Matthew Buxton – Canfor Pulp Ltd.

FPAC Innovation Award: Dale Holloway – Millar Western

Aboriginal Business Leadership Award: Splatsin Development Corporation

Skills Award for Aboriginal Youth: Danielle Patzer – Manitoba Metis Association
Aaron Jones – Garden River First Nation